23/11/2013

  • Leek & Bean Soup - 1st Recipe from Wuhan, Hubei, China

    IMG_4684 Fixings

     

    1/2 a small onion diced

    3 cloves small garlic sliced

    1" ginger sliced

    1Tbsp corn oil ( I prefer canola but haven't found it yet)

     

    1 small leek chopped and rinsed for sand

    1.5 c cooked beans these are called "Cow Gram" (sub. 1 can rinsed chickpeas)

    3Tbsp Knorr Chicken Broth mix (the kind I bought here seems puffed up so probably only 2 scant Tbsp of regular soup mix would be needed)

    4 cups water

     

    In a deep pot fry the onions in oil until golden around the edges, add garlic and ginger fry  a few more .  Add, soup base, then add drained, rinsed beans stir a bit. Add drained, rinsed leeks along with the four cups of water. Bring to a boil then simmer for about 20 min until the leeks are a texture/color you enjoy.

    Serves 2 generously... I'd double the recipe for a family... I put a cup of hot rice in the bottom of a bowl and topped with the soup and added soy sauce... it was delish that way too!

    Here's a link to more photos of how I put it together. (I only used half of the ginger shown.)

     

Comments (2)

  • Thank you. Sounds delicious especially now when the weather is so darn cold. I love soups.

    • Thank you Zsa for your comment... I'm hoping to get back to Xanga more regularly now that I've a new job.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment